Chairman's Message

Back to list

Thursday, 5th November 2015

Welcome to season 2015/16...

Chairman's Message

The 2015/16 season has come along quickly and the Club again see’s many changes around the place both on and off field.  Coming off a successful A-grade campaign, but a less than impressive Club season the Committee made a conscious effort to help the whole Club become better.

The first order of business was to appoint a new coach, and we were fortunate enough to land our man, regaining the services of Ben Hook, who had spent the previous season coaching Payneham CC.  Ben was very keen from the outset to push his expertise onto the whole playing group, not just the A-Grade using video session available to the whole Club.

A-Grade captain and new Co-Vice Chairman, Michael Richardson was on the front foot in the off season on the recruiting path rekindling the relationship with the School, to get the PAOCCC vs First XI match back up and running.  I must thank both Michael and Director of Cricket Russell Thompson from the School as well as the School ground staff.

The match was played over 2 afternoon sessions on Park 9 with the First XI winning by a single run in a competitive match.

We have welcomed many new faces for the 2015/16 season with Harry Barnes moving over from Kensington CC.  Tom Ashby (Glenelg CC) and Cam Pritchard (Prospect CC).  We have also welcomed many new current year 12’s who have taken the field for the Old Reds this season.  They include Hamish Latchford, Sam Alexander, Henry Cockington, Alexander Glover, Will Hudson, Nicholas Gregurke, Jake Pitt, Hamish Nitschke, Albert Robbins and Joshua Sarah-Katnich.

The Club has also seen the return of some familiar faces with Robert Graziani taking the field for the first time in nearly a decade.

The Committee has also been busy off the field with many new and old faces taking on roles within the Committee set up.  Michael Richardson and Michael Siciliano have joined the Committee along with Chris Drew and Antony Brabham.  We also welcomed Simon Bean who joins the Committee for the first time.
Lastly I would like to welcome new Club Sponsor Shaw and Partners to the PAOCCC community.  Shaw and Partners is one of Australia’s preeminent investment and wealth management firms who are privately owned and client focused.  I along with Coach Ben Hook and past PAOCCC committee member Peter Buttery met with Stephen Martiensen and Earl Evans over a long lunch, we are very excited to be a part of the Shaw and Partners family.

We must also thank those sponsors that have continued their support in John Easling Revolution Roofing, Aaron Read BRM Holdich, Johnson Winter & Slattery Lawyers, Moo Premium Yogurt, Serafina Jewellery, Dizziness and Balance Disorder Centre, Tidswell Wines, Len King Chambers, Escape Travel Burnside, Hudson Howells, Capital United, JH Advisory, Brecknock Insurance Brokers, Gemtree Wines, Capital United, Coopers Brewery, Richard Hockney and Associates, Ray White West Torrens and last but not least our new physio sponsor in Body Plus Physiotherapy with John Gould and partner Tatum Gould helping out the Club off field to make sure we are fit and firing on field.

As you can understand we cannot function as well as we do without the support from generous individuals like those I have mentioned and we thank all for their contribution.
The PAOCCC again is looking to all our past players and supporters to get involved with the Club with a Vice President sponsorship.  One of the key features of the package is that it includes a ticket to the Club's Past Players/Vice Presidents and Sponsors Day on Saturday 19th December at Park 9.  The event kicks off from 1pm with the A Grade playing arch rival St Peter's.  Andrew "Olly" Olsson and other current and past greats of the cricket club will be there running the event on the day.  There will be beer, wine and gourmet meats provided by our generous sponsors Thomas Farms.
I am looking forward to a successful year on and off field and hope to see many of you at matches and social occasions.
James Dalwood - PAOCCC Chairman